Our school recently celebrated teacher’s day and that’s what inspired me to write this blog. Here are a few interesting and not very well known facts about the man in whose honour this day is celebrated, Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan.

  1. His father did not want him to attend schooling. In fact, he wanted him to become a priest.
  2. He was a professor of Philosophy, but he studied the subject by chance. His cousin passed him his textbooks and since it appealed to him, he chose to master the subject.
  3. He was a living bridge between the east and the west, incorporating the best of both in his life.
  4. He won the Templeton Prize in 1975, for promoting the notion of “a universal reality of God that embraced love and wisdom for all  people”. He donated all the award money to Oxford University.
  5. Oxford, in the memory of the loving teacher of India, set up a scholarship by his name, known as “Radhakrishnan Chevening Scholarships”.

At my school, a pupil teacher competition was held and I was one of the participants. We had to prepare a lesson plan and teach a particular subject to a class of students.  chose to teach Mathematics to grade 9. I prepared to teach them Co-ordinate geometry. I had to work very hard to prepare a presentation and decide how I could explain the basic concepts of this topic to them.

However, on the 5th of September  I realised that my laptop would not connect to the projector. I had to rush to a teacher and borrow her laptop for the lesson. However, despite the problem I faced before the lesson begun, I was confident and I explained the concepts to my ‘students’ well. I was especially pleased when they began to participate by answering my questions and solving sums on their own. I attempted to make it an interactive learning experience for them, going to the students with doubts and personally assisting them, while framing higher order thinking skills questions (HOTS) to challenge those who had already understood.

I believe that the experience was more educational for me than it was for the students, because I learned so may things from it. From dealing with the problem of projecting my presentation to devising new ways to explaining mathematics to my students, everything I experienced on that day taught me something new. I thoroughly enjoyed the teaching session as well. I loved teaching geometry to my students and was overjoyed everytime they understood what I was trying to explain.

All in all, it was a once in a lifetime opportunity and I’m glad that I could be a part of this competition!

 

 

